The GPSA’s decision-making body is the Steering Committee (SC), chaired by the World Bank and composed by a broad and balanced representation of CSOs, donors and governments. The SC was formed following the procedures set forth in the GPSA’s Board Paper. The Committee sets out the overall strategy for the GPSA and approves CSO grant proposals.


World Bank Representative & Chair of the Steering Committee

  • Mr. Jan Walliser, Vice President, Equitable Growth, Finance, and Institutions

Government Members

CSO Members

  • Ms. Lindsay Coates, President, InterAction
  • Mr. Said Issa, Board Chairman, ANSA-Arab World and Grass Roots Manager, Lebanese Transparency Association
  • Mr. Gopa Thampi, Director, Economic Governance – Sri Lanka, The Asia Foundation

Donor Members

  • Mr. Aleem Walji, Chief Executive Officer, Aga Khan Foundation USA
  • Mr.Tim Meisburger, Director of the Democracy, Human Rights and Governance Center at USAID, United States
  • Ms. Lotta Valtonen, Senior Adviser, Democracy and Governance, Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Department for Development Policy, Finland

The Steering Committee held its first meeting on December 17, 2012, where it discussed strategic directions for the operation of the Program. At this time, World Bank President Jim Yong Kim and World Bank Managing Director Caroline Anstey joined the Steering Committee members for a special Round Table discussion on key issues and opportunities for engagement around social accountability and the science of delivery. On May 8 and 9, 2013, the Steering Committee met for the second time to discuss the allocation of grants from the first Call for Proposals. A third and fourth meeting took place on March 10 and 11, 2014 and on May 11, 2015. The GPSA held its fifth meeting on January 27 and January 28, 2016 followed by a Round Table disussion on the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).